HOW IT HAPPENED: THE SWIFT TAKE OVER OF MICROPHONE BY ABDILLAH TOHA IN THE “APPF’’ FIRST PLENARY SESSION IN VIENTIANE, LAOS, JAN 12, 2009, AFTERNOON

AS I was sitting next to Abdillah Toha in the front row of the plenary meeting, the Chairman called for my name to take part in delivering the speech on behalf of the Indonesian delegation. When I took the microphone to start delivering my speech, in no time Abdillah Toha, head of the Indonesian delegation, said to me that ‘this is the session on the Global Financial Crisis,’ in which Abdillah Toha was indeed scheduled in the Agenda but in the next Item 1.1. and his name was enlisted not as the first speaker in Item 1.1. but after several names.
Abdillah Toha might not be aware of, that the plenary was still in the Item 1 Agenda on Economic and Trade Matter in which my name was clearly imprinted as the third speaker after Russia and Vietnam in the Agenda distributed in advance to all members.
As I was informed later after a turbulant face to face polemic between Abdillah and Laode Ida outside the meeting hall, Abdillah thought that I was ill-prepared since what he saw in front of me was a few scratching notes, hand-written. He did not realize that right underneath the scratched paper I had a well written and well prepared paper to be delivered for the occasion. And the topic I raised was also discussed and agreed upon in the meeting in Laode Ida’s room at the DPD floor of Nusantara III Hall a few days before the departure.
Since Abdillah remained adamant and insistant I let him pursue his wish to avoid the scandalous moment to be known by others in such a dignified forum. And Abdillah started to deliver his speech. My opportunity to take the floor to deliver my speech was then ‘gone with the wind,’ though my paper was already distributed and documented by the APPF Secretariat.
Laode Ida and Abdillah met each other afterwards outside the plenary hall. And there what happened happened. The troubled, tumultuous, fire of conflict between Abdillah in person, but at the same time personifying the standpoint of the feuding DPR, vis-à-vis the DPD, and with Laode Ide, also personifying the standpoint of the DPD, came to open, and in the international arena. In the eyes of Abdillah, DPD was not a legislative body and neither the legitimate parliament. Thereby DPD had no right to take part in international parliamentary meetings, as Abdillah argued.
In fact such incidence was only a casus belli. Meetings after meetings at the international inter-parliamentary levels whereby DPD also took place, were annoying to Abdillah in particular since he has always been head of the DPR dele-gation.
I saw and experienced it myself when I participated in the previous APPF meeting of January last year, in Oakland, New Zealand, where delegate members from DPD were registered by Abdillah only as “advisors,” and not “members” of the Indonesian delegation. Nevertheless, we from DPD participated the meetings fully and took part in delivering speeches and participating in drafting committees. I for one delivered and read a paper on ‘Poverty Alleviation’ on behalf of the Indonesian delegation. And no one argued to my legitimacy. So also in my active participation in the drafting committee. Abdillah, notwithstanding, showed openly and arrogantly his disgusting reactions. ***

0 Responses to “HOW IT HAPPENED: THE SWIFT TAKE OVER OF MICROPHONE BY ABDILLAH TOHA IN THE “APPF’’ FIRST PLENARY SESSION IN VIENTIANE, LAOS, JAN 12, 2009, AFTERNOON”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

